Eastburn Community Service Award Nominations Are Open

On February 9, 2021

Community members are invited and encouraged to nominate a deserving Chester County resident to receive the Eastburn Community Service Award, presented each year in memory of Jane and Al Eastburn, both of whom served the Coatesville area as non-profit leaders with distinction.

With the encouragement and initial funding of Dallas Krapf and the Krapf Bus Co., the Eastburn Community Service Award was established in 2016 by the Alliance for Health Equity’s board of directors, in recognition of Jane and Al Eastburn’s service to the Coatesville area through their leadership of various boards and community organizations over several decades, including Brandywine Hospital, the Visiting Nurses Association, the Coatesville Area Public Library, the YMCA, Chester County Chamber of Business & Industry, Coatesville Area Partners for Progress, and the Alliance for Health Equity. “Al Eastburn and his wife Jane literally gave their whole lives to the community and worked hard to make Coatesville a better place for everyone,” commented Dallas Krapf, Co-Chairman of the Board, Krapf Bus Companies. “After Jane and then Al passed away, I wanted something to be done every year so they would be recognized for their lifelong commitment to the community.”

Nominate a local hero who has gone above and beyond during the coronavirus pandemic. In the months since the COVID-19 outbreak, communities everywhere have seen extraordinary medical professionals, first responders, volunteers, community leaders, local business owners and employees, essential workers and everyday people who have been working tirelessly to make a difference.  Thousands in our local community are dealing with an immeasurable level of suffering and massive disruption to their daily lives.  We want to highlight the story of an unsung hero who is making an impact in the greater Coatesville area. Do you know someone who has gone above and beyond to uplift their neighbors and community during the pandemic?  We are celebrating our local unsung heroes and want to hear their story!


The Eastburn Community Service Award is given to an individual who has and/or still gives back to the Coatesville community, making a positive difference with their time, energy, expertise.  While philanthropic support is an added benefit, it is not the most significant factor. Past award recipients and heroes include Pierre Annaballi (Coatesville Area Public Library), Robert “Bob” A. Spatola (Handi-Crafters, Inc., and Coatesville Youth Initiative), Steve and Shannon Kirk (Scott Field Project) and Sgt. Rodger Ollis, Jr. (Chester County Food Bank, Coatesville Kids to College, David’s Drive 831, Domestic Violence Center of Chester County and Salvation Army of Coatesville).

This year, the focus has expanded amid COVID-19.  Priority will be given to those who:

  • provide innovative support during this ongoing COVID-19 crisis,
  • help/support non-profits in the Coatesville community,
  • volunteer their time and talents in the Coatesville area,
  • serve as mentors to help develop future volunteer leaders for our community,
  • have a consistently positive outlook on the future of the Coatesville community,
  • and persevere through challenges and setbacks.


March 12, 2021:

One-page letters due to the attention of Dana Heiman, Chief Impact Officer, The Alliance for Health Equity, 50 South 1st Avenue, Coatesville, PA 19320 or as a pdf attachment sent to dheiman@alliancehealthequity.org.

When recipient of this award is notified, they will have the opportunity to designate a non-profit(s) serving the Coatesville area to receive the grant.  $5,000 total will be awarded to organization(s) in honor of one or two recipients.

New This Year!
We will feature the honoree’s story in an upcoming foundation eNewsletter, through our official social media outlets and press releases to our local news media.